DR. HASSAN MELEHY Department Chair

DR. EMIL KEME (A.K.A EMILIO DEL VALLE ESCALANTE) Associate Chair

DR. GLYNIS COWELL Director of Undergraduate Studies

DR. OSWALDO ESTRADA Director of Graduate Studies

"Hark the Sound of Tar Heel Voices Ringing Clear and True"

Special Thanks to our Advisors

Dr. Dorothea Heitsch French Major/Minor

Dr. Amy Chambless Italian Major/Minor

Dr. Richard Vernon Portuguese Major/Minor

Dr. Gosia Lee Hispanic Literature & Culture Major, Hispanic Studies Minor

Dr. Martha Ruiz-Garcia Hispanic Linguistics Major Dr. Elizabeth Bruno Spanish for the Professions Minor

> 1997 Northernautrice Northerna

Dr. Ellen Welch French Graduate Studies

Dr. Maggie Fritz-Morkin Italian Graduate Studies

Dr. Alicia Rivero Spanish Graduate Studies



COLLEGE OF ARTS AND SCIENCES

Romance Studies

welcomes you to the

Graduation Celebration & Awards Ceremony

ELEVENTH DAY OF MAY,

Two Thousand and Nineteen

TWO O'CLOCK

Genome Sciences Building, G100





Welcome & Introduction

Undergraduate Awards

- Camões Prize for Excellence in Portuguese* Catherine Lucchi
- Jacques Hardré Award for Excellence in French* Mary Margaret Mckenzie
- Kimberly Kyser Award for Excellence in Italian Studies Chris Combemale Catherine Alexandra Howard
- Reed Gabriel Ignizio Award Timothy Warren Hartman
- Sterling A. Stoudemire Award for Excellence in Spanish* Julia Pulawski
- Stoudemire Prize for Excellence in Spanish Sarah Lucille Thames Emily Hazlett Julia Whitten

*Chancellor's Award

Student Reflections

French - Mary Margaret Mckenzie

Italian - Chris Combemale

Portuguese - Catherine Lucchi

Spanish - Julia Pulawski

Gамма Карра Аlpha

Italian National Honor Society Dr. Amy Chambless, Advisor

Marisa Alam Scott Amaranto Sheridan Battaile Jenna Caputi Kayley Carpenter Morgan Cody Liliana Gregg Mia Hoover Maggie Horne Erin Matson Sara McMillan Cody Naccarato Abby Pitcairn **Alexis Roberts** Alicia Robbins Carrie Spedding Lea Yorke

2018- 2019 Honor Society Inductees

PI DELTA PHI

French National Honor Society Dr. Dorothea Heitsch, Advisor

> J. Landry Ballance Claire Bartel Abhigya Chennamsetty Tabitha Gillespie D. Ben Knoble Elisa R. Moore Will Rowe Tess Everton Stogner Gianna Tahan Sarina Tahan Mackie Taranto

SIGMA DELTA PI Spanish National Honor Society Drs. Martha Alexander & Cristina Carrasco, Advisors

------ 3928 ------Joseph Landry Balance Masiel Bautista Sammy Bowen India Brown Tamara Cabrera **Barrett** Caison Lyndsay Cooper Grace DeSena Michelle Gomez Azana Kacie Green Caroline Hoch Allison Imes Ayana King Steven Kramer Alexia Lucas

Bianca Maheia Anna Morgan Nadhya Polanco Ray Martha Ruiz-Garcia Sarah Stephenson Emma Stevens Jane Stonehouse Andrew Stotka Joy Stouffer Karlton Tate Norma Techarukpong Hannah Wilkins Anna Wilson Owen Wooten

Graduate Awards

- Florence McCulloch Travel Fellowship in French Emma Monroy
- Isabella Payne Cooper Travel Fellowship in Italian Tessa Bullington
- Armida Marconi Falvo Award for Excellence in Italian Massimiliano Cirulli
- Jacques Hardre Award for Excellence in Teaching in French Kirsten Foote
- Dana Drake Award for Excellence in Teaching in Spanish H. Parker Brookie

Faculty Award

Faculty Mentorship Award

Juan Carlos González Espitia

------ <u>\$</u>\$\$\$ ------

Recognition of the Graduates



Reception Please Join Us in the Lobby for Refreshments

Students Graduating with Degrees in Romance Studies

------ <u><u><u></u></u></u>

Doctor of Philosophy

Etna Veronica Avalos Molina - Spanish Elena Nicole Casey - Spanish Adrienne Erazo - Spanish Anne-Shirley Harford - Spanish Giuliano Migliori - Italian Holly Elise Sims - Spanish Carlos Vázquez Cruz - Spanish April Danielle Weintritt - Italian

Master of Arts

Jossette Bailey - French Brooke Miranda Farmer - Spanish Kirsten Kane - French Elena Peña-Argüeso - Spanish Madeleine A. Riley - French

Bachelor of Arts

French & Francophone Studies

Sally Finley Dillon Jacob Henry Larson Mary Margaret Mckenzie Lucy Lea Miller Elisa Regan Moore Tess Everton Stogner• Dana Maria Trumpower•

<u>Italian</u>

Christopher Combemale Catherine Alexandra Howard

Hispanic Literature & Culture

Aneia Chanthaboury Evan Walker Davis Audrey Rae Droppelman Franklin Gomez **Brittany Nicole Grant** Holden Van Hammontree Mary Mcconnell Harrison **Kierstyn Ashley Jones Thomas Ledbetter Juneau** Haley Hwajeong Kim Sara Lackey Léa Janel Le Baron Kelsey Denise Morgan Marykate Murray **Corey Parker Ochs** Sachi Pathak

Megan Leigh Perkins Julia Pulawski Kaitlyn Mary Quigley• Ayashe Ramey Sophia Sheats Stephanie Michelle Shongut Erin G Stacks Ginna Alejandra Suarez Norma Choosri Techarukpong Rachel Thimsen Tania Vargas Robin Christine Viall Haley Suzanne Weatherford Julia Cristine Whitten Allyson Marie Yelton

Hispanic Linguistics

Thomas Marshall Andrews Joseph Landry Ballance Sarah Elizabeth Barnett Barrett Caison Kennedy Jane Channel Brooklynn Denise Cooper Lauren Abigail Dobbie Laleh Maria Emadi-Paramkouhi Alina Fortunato Timothy Warren Hartman

Emily Ruth Hazlett Sabrina Ann Kalimian Sarah Nicole Kelly Paityn Alexis Lugo Olivia Samara Marks Madeline Speirs Trainor Deepthi Yogyatha Tulasi Natasha Robin Vernooij Jane Yang Aliyah Hadiya Young

The above students are only those present today and do not reflect all those graduating from the department.